New principals announced at three Boone County schools

Staff Report
Staff Report
Do you have a news tip to share? Send it to [email protected]

More by....

Three Boone County schools are welcoming new leadership as the first day of school draws near. 

Boone County High School, Stephens Elementary School, and Florence Elementary School all have new principals at the helm, according to a recent Boone County Schools newsletter. 

Replacing former Boone County High School Principal Timothy Schlotman is Stacey Black.

Stacey Black, principal of Boone County High School. Photo provided

Black is “a natural fit for this job,” according to the district’s newsletter. Black has been in education for 25 years, all of which she has spent with Boone County High. She first started as an English teacher, a position she held for 20 years. She spent two years as an instructional coach and the last three years as assistant principal of Boone County High School. 

Eric Blankenship, an educator from Campbell County Schools, has been named as the principal of Stephens Elementary. 

Blankenship was originally a teacher and coach at Conner Middle and Ryle High schools for 13 years. He has spent the last four years in Campbell County Schools and served as the assistant principal of Campbell County Middle School before returning to Boone this year. 

Eric Blankenship, principal of Stephens Elementary School. Photo provided

Finally, the former assistant principal of Florence Elementary is now taking the helm as principal. Ryan Burch has 19 year’s experience as an administrator, teacher, school librarian and school technology coordinator. He is also a Golden Apple Award recipient. 

Ryan Burch, principal of Florence Elementary School. Photo provided

Boone County Schools also announced a series of new hires in other administrative roles: 

  • Dustin Herald, assistant principal at Boone County High School
  • Erik Larson, assistant principal at Burlington Elementary School
  • Don Black, assistant principal at IGNITE Institute
  • Deshae Barnhorst, assistant principal at Collins Elementary School
  • Robin Schaefer, assistant principal at Ockerman Elementary School
  • Matt Miller, vice principal at New Haven Elementary School
  • Staci Paff, vice principal at Gray Middle School
  • Chad Simms, vice principal at Jones Middle School
  • Tracy Schaefer, director of Middle and High School Teaching and Learning
  • Julie Rubemeyer, director of Elementary Teaching and Learning
  • Jimmy Jackson, preschool coordinator
  • Maddie Chairlli, special education coordinator
  • Katie Parks, school choice and transition services coordinator
  • Trish Neace, new consultant for gifted and talented program
Related:  Online trend blamed for damage to Covington resident's vehicle

Boone County Schools students are scheduled to return to the classroom on Thursday, Aug. 18.  

More articles

Latest articles

In Case You Missed It