Senator-elect Gex Williams receives committee, chair assignments

Staff Report
Staff Report
Do you have a news tip to share? Send it to [email protected].

More by....

Senator-elect Gex “Jay” Williams (R-Verona) received his committee and chair assignments from the Kentucky Senate leadership last week. 

Williams has been named Senate Education Committee vice chair. He will also serve as Budget Review Subcommittee on Justice and Judiciary co-chair, and as a member of the Senate Transportation Committee; State and Local Government Committee; Natural Resources and Energy Committee; and Veterans, Military Affairs and Public Protection Committee.

“I am returning to the Kentucky Senate to work on behalf of my constituents and make a positive difference in these policy areas and much more,” Williams said. “I received a better list of legislative committee assignments than I expected and appreciate President Stivers and the Senate leadership’s trust in me.”

Williams served one term in the Kentucky House of Representatives from 1991-93 and the Kentucky Senate from March 1993 through December 1998. Williams served as a member of the Senate Education Committee.

“A lot changed since my previous stint in public office, but some things remain the same,” Williams said. “Just like the 1990s, about half of the state’s revenue is dedicated toward providing quality education for our students. While we appropriate roughly the same percentage of the pie to education, the total dollar amount increased significantly, from $13 billion to almost $30 billion. We have a moral and legal imperative to foster education policy that ensures every Kentucky student is taught to read, write and think logically in a safe environment that nurtures their love of learning and competition.”

Williams will officially be sworn into office on Jan. 3 in the Kentucky Senate Chambers at noon.

More news:  Streetscapes ventures along Orphanage Road for brews, BBQ, quality steaks

Standing committee assignments are not final until the Senate Committee on Committees makes a formal vote. The Committee on Committees membership comprises both Senate majority and minority caucus members. Committee appointments are subject to change.

Williams will represent Senate District 20, which includes Carroll, Franklin, Gallatin and Owen Counties, southern Boone County and part of west Kenton County.

More articles

More by...

Latest articles

In Case You Missed It